ALL OF THIS IS TRUE by Lygia Day Peñaflor (Review)

AOTIT

Amazon | TBD

Miri Tan loved the book Undertow like it was a living being. So when she and her friends went to a book signing to hear the author, Fatima Ro, they concocted a plan to get close to her.

Soleil Johnston wanted to be a writer herself one day. When she and her friends started hanging out with her favorite author, Fatima Ro, she couldn’t believe their luck—especially when Jonah Nicholls started hanging out with them, too.

Penny Panzarella was more than the materialist party girl everyone at the Graham School thought she was—and she was willing to share all her secrets with Fatima Ro to prove it.

Jonah Nicholls had more to hide than any of them. And now that Fatima’s next book is out in the world, he’s the one who is paying the price…

Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying—and told as a series of interviews, journal entries, and even pages from the book within the book—this gripping story of a fictional scandal will keep you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end.

Review:

A part of the description that I cut out was them calling it a “genre-defying” novel, and I could not disagree more. In fact, it makes me laugh to think about that quote.

In short, this book was interesting, and kept me reading, but I had multiple issues with it. Lucky for you (!!!), I took notes as I was reading!

My notes:

  • Page 92 – Are all of these stereotypes? They think he’s gay because he didn’t comment on someone’s boobs?
  • Page 94 – What the heck? She turned mean really quickly.
  • Page 151 – There is a quote on this page commenting on how guys can eat everything and not gain weight while girls can’t. Um, I am living proof this isn’t true. From someone who had been over weight for a large part of their life and then lost it, this is most defiantly not true and I honestly hate this.
  • Page 195 – “He and Sunny were so freakin’ hot together…” Who comments this in an actual relationship?
  • Page 301 – “Here Sunny, here’s the fiction we both want to live, here and here and here…” I actually laughed because all I could think about is him touching her and saying “here and here and here” and I just can’t take this seriously anymore.
  • Page 326 – “She hadn’t expected a sexy time tonight…” *face palm*
  • Page 341 – Here they talk about two teens making a digital layout of Fatima’s house through a program and seeing what it looks like with a wall removed. This seemed impossible for two teens who had just downloaded such a program and had no idea what the hell they were doing, so my note was: This makes no sense.

All in all, this book kept me reading, but I couldn’t take anything seriously. The writing is sub-par and some pages were an actual waste of paper, as they maybe had 10 words I read on them (I’m half thinking about tossing this one in the recycling bin). But, towards the end, it almost made me feel something – almost. And it saddens me to say that this novel could have probably gotten a lot better review had it not been an epistolary and had just been worked out better.

I guess the thing that made me most sad about this was its potential to be something great, but it ended up what it is.

Rating:

Untitled design-5

11 thoughts on “ALL OF THIS IS TRUE by Lygia Day Peñaflor (Review)

    1. OH MY GOSH SAME. I feel like they had to do that since it was an epistolary with NO character description other than that Brady was “hot”.
      And, yes, it was very unironic and also very cringey.

      Like

  1. Pingback: I Spy Book Challenge – Shaz Reads

  2. Pingback: Book review: All of This Is True by Lygia Day Peñaflor – The Bibliophagist

  3. Pingback: August 2018 In Review – Page to Page

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s